Understand the Components

  • Review the National Board Standards and component instructions for your certificate area.
  • National Board Certification is offered in 25 certificate areas that span 16 content areas and four student developmental levels.
  • In all certificate areas, candidates are required to complete four components consisting of:

Computer-based assessment - administered at a testing center
Component 1: Content Knowledge
Portfolio entries - submit online
Component 2: Differentiation in Instruction
Component 3: Teaching Practice and Learning Environment
Component 4: Effective and Reflective Practitioner

  • ​Teachers must attempt each of the four components within the first three years of their candidacy. You will have two opportunities to retake each component.
  • Certification may take anywhere from one to five years, depending on the approach taken